A short note on the new format of Hungarian Spectrum

As all of you who post comments on Spectrum must have noticed, two very handy features disappeared: (1) the numbers beside the comments and (2) the “quote” feature. The latter is, I think, the one that is missed most.

It was “Mutt,” a computer engineer when he is not writing funny comments on Spectrum, who pointed out that the problem was a Javascript error, which should be easily fixable. We waited for a while but nothing happened. At this point, Mutt managed to get in touch with the techs at WordPress (quite a feat!) and was told two things by two different people. One said that Wordpress had “decided to remove the ‘quote’ link feature from the theme” since “it has been causing many errors on our end.” The other noted that INove, the format formerly used by Hungarian Spectrum, “is a retired theme that does not support all WordPress.com features.” The second tech suggested changing the theme. Perhaps that will solve the problem.

Unfortunately, it seems that the information we received wasn’t quite accurate. Although I’m still not 100% sure, I fear that the “quote link feature” was removed not only from our defunct INove format but from all WordPress themes. Although I changed “themes” at least three times in the mad search for the “quote” feature, nowhere could I find it.

I have already composed a letter to WordPress in which I inquire about the true state of the “quote” feature. There is a slight chance that they will offer a solution. In that case, I will immediately install whatever I have to in order to restore these earlier and now sorely missed features.

As for the new design. I don’t like it as much as I liked INove, but I guess we will all have to get used to it. The change really had to be made to avoid potential calamities such as the loss of text.

42 comments

  1. Does anyone know of a WP layout format that would permit a sub-discussion on a comment?
    Plus a like – dislike (agree – disagree i.e. thumbs up – thumbs down) possibility after a comment?
    The above would allow for increasing the logical threads to discussions !!!!!

  2. @andy There are many nested comments options. (I assume that is what you mean on sub-discussion.) I think it is up to Eva if she would like to implement like/dislike or nested options.

  3. Some1, take a look at the link you gave. It is WordPress.org. Believe me, I have tried everything. Unfortunately there is no way to add a plugin to WordPress.com. WordPress.org is a very complicated program for which you need programming skills.

    But there is one good thing. I managed to get rid of my “about me” story at the end of every post.

    Just to tell you how incompetent the techs are at WordPress here is the story. I was told, that there is only one way of getting rid of it: go to “Users > My profile” and delete the whole thing. But then, she said, it will be no longer available under “About” in the header. She was wrong.

  4. Eva, You can. (not you but someone who knows how to load it.) There is a whole developer section at wordpress. You may have to upgrade to Premium, but there are many plugins currently in use.

    Nope. wordpress.com is a hosted version of the WordPress. All you get is a dashboard to customize your blog. It’s a FIDESZ style management: whatever these guys think is good you can add it.

    This is their support page:

    http://en.support.wordpress.com/plugins/

    I went to the “ideas forum” to tell them the great idea about a quote comment plugin (gee, I didn’t know you had it before …). Knowing how helpful they are, there is a slim chance for something to happen. Especially when I flagged myself when I barked on them earlier. Let’s hope for the best.

  5. Eva, Would you consider using a more user-friendly and clearer format? I set up one for you to see how it looks. It has all the features you already have here, but the comment area I believe is much clearer, and the width of your Blog entries are wider so no so much scrolling is required.
    http://anyhow.wordpress.com/

  6. Some1. it looks very nice but it was hell to find a theme which, for example, takes videos. Relatively few do. Moreover, all sorts of tweaking was necessary because the transfer was not very clean.

    What I may be able to do is to acquire an attachment that would allow me to change fonts and colors.

  7. I just like hoe the comments flow better in the other. Not in small boxes but a simple line between. Also it does not have the big, clunky date bar on the left, so the text area for your blog entries are wider. (Although you maybe able to turn it off in the Dashbord.) At any case, I will be happy to read whatever comes up in whatever format. I just wish the quote option would be back.

  8. Eva S. Balogh says : May 17, 2014 at 7:18 pm
    Some1, take a look at the link you gave. It is WordPress.org. Believe me, I have tried everything. Unfortunately there is no way to add a plugin to WordPress.com. WordPress.org is a very complicated program for which you need programming skills.

    Sorry, just testing, I will give it up, just need to see something if it works….

  9. Unfortunately the quote option no longer exists. We can urge them through the Forum to do something about it but I’m not optimistic. Yes, perhaps there is a way to circumvent it. Keep experimenting.

  10. While this “theme” looks pleasant on my pc screen , the gray and black look depressing on my tablet! and One of my favourite things to do in the evening is do read HS on my tablet…

    Hopefully this issue will be solved soon 🙂

  11. Re quotes:

    I’ve seen on other systems lots of quotes – often even nested, so if A writes, B quotes A, C quotes B and D answers – then you have the full text of A, B, C and D! Horrible imho!

    I think it’s not too much to ask to just copy and paste a text and add “quotes”.
    The essence of HS is the stuff that Eva tells us and the often very enlightening comments are an added bonus – whatever the format!

  12. I’ve not been following this discussion in detail, but if we can’t have what we want in any format, can’t we just stay with the old one? (assuming that’s possible)

    I’m not being a stick-in-the-mud, I just found the old format easier to read, and generally easier on the eye. (But I’m not all that bothered – it’s the content that matters, not the format, after all.)

    As for the ‘quotes’ function – I was initially disappointed to see it go, but it was a bit of a mixed blessing, especially if you were replying to a comment which already included a quote or two, or replying to a long comment, which meant the whole of the original comment being repeated (unless you were prepared to faff about editing it).

    On reflection, I think the ‘quote; function just made us lazy and made the thread harder to follow. As Wolfi says – “it’s not too much to ask to just copy and paste” (as I just did!) – that way you need only post the bit you are replying to, not the whole comment.

  13. Paul, we could not stay with the old one. There is no longer any technical support behind it. That means that if something happened to it, the whole blog could have gone down the drain. Sorry, we all have to put up with what we have. I liked the old one a great deal better, but believe me, this design is better than all the ones I looked at as possibilities . Although there are over one hundred themes, most of them are hideous.

    There is a new design which is very popular but the whole sidebar is completely hidden. In the upper right-hand corner there is a three-line logo. You have to click on that to be able to see everything on the right hand side. Like in Google Chrome. Most people wouldn’t have the foggiest idea what this bar was all about. The only thing one could see was only the text. It would be very confusing.

  14. I don’t know where you found anyone but it is not one of those we can pick. I wish it were because it is very nice. But we can pick only from those which are currently available.

    If you go to dashboard >appearances > themes you will see that “anyhow” is not there.

  15. Well, if you had given me the proper name of the theme, maybe I would have found it.

    I’m more than wiling to change the format, but knowing us, human beings, someone else will complain that he/she hates this and why don’t go back to the old one?

    So, people, let me know what you think!

  16. Well, I’m quite happy with the way the page looks now – I think we shouldn’t get diverted too much by fancy graphics etc.

    But if anyone has other ideas and is willing to help Eva – why not?

  17. Here is a link, Eva (& anyone cares) where you can evaulate the feature-set of different themes in advance, even post formats, quotes and so on, then you know what to expect.

    Presently I feel the gravatars little oversized and the text could use one size bigger font, but I´m on my Ipad, I´ll check later on other screens too.

  18. I posted my reply on the wrong thread of course:

    Sorry Eva. Since I deal with wordpress a lot, it is evident to me that the name of the themes are at the bottom of each blog. The one you currently use called, Skeptical and it is written on the right bottom. T he one I suggested also lists it’s theme name at he bottom (in the middle). I shouldn’t expect everyone to know this. I appreciate the time you are spending with all this.
    You are also right about assuming that everyone has favourites, and you could not please everyone with each theme. Of course I am coming her for the content, I just tried to help to give a clearer option. whatever will be will be.
    Here is the link again to those who care at all. hahaha
    Ooops, I would like to note although, the Header would be 1/3 taller then the current area. http://anyhow.wordpress.com

  19. spectator at al, I know how to do it. The trouble was that Some1 did not give me the real name of the theme.

    There are many things I like with Some1’s choice: large area for text. The links are well marked in red. I like the clean type. Comments, on the other hand, are terribly well hidden.

  20. Of course, its only a way to find it easier.
    However, I missed to include the link:

    http://en.support.wordpress.com/themes/post-formats/

    At home still the same: gravatars I found way too large while the text a bit too small – even smaller than the default date.

    What experience I have is on the self hosted versions, but I’ll browse around for more.

    If you can change the colour-scheme (for a more neutral, like the present one) of Some1-s recommendation it would work fine.

  21. One thing I don’t like in this “new style”:

    I have to scroll down by the last comment on some topic to find the “list of recent comments” in the right sidebar – but that’s just a minor irritation, no real problem …

  22. Wolfi, I don’t understand the problem. The placement of the comments is exactly what it was in the previous themes. My beef is that it is difficult to find “comments” to click on in order to see them. But at the same time, this is a cleaner and better looking theme with a better font,

  23. Eva, maybe I’m mistaken – but I seem to remember that the sidebar with “latest comments” was always at the top – now sometimes (?) it’s moved below …
    Hey – it just seemed to move when I clicked in the comment box. I’ll have to look at that again.

    But you’re right, the theme is good looking, especially the font is easy on the eyes – and since you might be even a few years older than me (just turned 71), that’s good for your eyes as well as mine! So I’m not complaining – anyway the contents here are much more important!

  24. Dear Eva,
    this “theme” to me is much more pleasing to the eyes both on PC and tablet. Love fonts!

    Thanks for your continue hard work for the Hungarian.

  25. Nice and clear!
    (Alas, I have to find another pair of glasses…never mind, found my white stick…)

    Not to mention that finally the Hungarian Spectrum managed to present the true “Hungarian Spectrum” – as you can see on the header: its black, people!

    Before anyone start complaining, if you just mix all the colors of the spectrum you should end up with black, theoretically at least.
    So you see, the colors are all there, just at the moment unable to align nicely, they want to occupy the same spot… Strange isn’t it?

    From here, definitely!
    There: this is the reality.

    “We have von the battle over the obviously multicultural and totally frivolously colored Spectrums, and now we have our own! Its a Hungaricum, we are the best in the World with our new Spectrum, The true Hungarian Genius proved again that we are unbeatable! We managed to put all the colors of a Spectrum on the same spot, what nobody, I repeat, nobody ever done before!
    The world will envy and follow us! go Hungary, Go Hungarians..!”

    Or thereabout.

  26. “enuff
    May 20, 2014 at 3:17 pm Edit
    Dear Eva,
    this “theme” to me is much more pleasing to the eyes both on PC and tablet. Love fonts!”

    You have to thank Some1. She is the one who found it. I missed it somehow.

  27. I like the theme very much. My only gripe is that captions don’t automatically center under the picture/photo. I have to work on that. Plus, WordPress changes my ordinary bold to bold Italic in the captions. It looks pretty awful, but I will try to fix that manually.

Comments are closed.